Breakfast with Michael Symon

I just had breakfast with Michael Symon. Well, we did have a large demonstration kitchen counter separating us, but I was in the front row and did ask a couple of questions so technically we did nosh and converse over a scrumptious breakfast he prepared. He was in San Francisco today promoting his first cookbook, Michael Symon’s Live to Cook: Recipes and Techniques to Rock Your Kitchen. The event was held at the Union Square William-Sonoma and was an intimate setting. Just me, Michael…and several other bloggers, writers, and others in the media.

I admit that I wasn’t familiar with Michael Symon before my Project Foodie invite and have confessed in earlier posts that I only watch the Food Network when I’m at the gym. Lately, though, I’ve been getting the magazine and giving it a glance for my monthly Project Foodie magazine reviews. The last two months, Food Network magazine has far surpassed Bon Appetit (the other mag I review) in recipes, content, and overall appeal. I might occasionally bash some of the Food Network “personalities”, but not the talented and professionally trained chefs like Michael Symon. I appreciate the fact that he is dedicated to his six Cleveland-area restaurants, has a loyal staff and customer base, and is a family man at heart, repeatedly referring to his wife (and working partner), son, and extended family.

While Michael whipped up scrambled eggs with goat cheese, potato pancakes, and bacon, he talked about his cooking philosophy, his restaurants, and the tough job of writing a cookbook. Actually, he said it was the hardest thing he ever did, but that he loved every minute of it. I’m going to enjoy going through his cookbook and preparing some of his Greek-inspired dishes (his mother is half-Greek). I’ll post later about my thoughts. Check Project Foodie to see my or my Project Foodie co-blogger Peggy Fallon’s review of his book. Thanks William-Sonoma and Calphalon for a lovely morning.

One thought on “Breakfast with Michael Symon

Leave a Reply

